The Big News

Ireland

Alright you guys. I have some big news. Drum roll please……

I’m moving to Ireland. For a month. Maybe more. Don’t really know.

I’m going over for my company to work on a project, but I’m really really really psyched about the running part. That picture up there? That’s Howth, which is a neighbourhood of Dublin, Ireland where I will be living. Beautiful, right? I’m looking forward to running those trails and clocking some miles in a new country.

This will be to mildly offset the beer and potatoes I plan on consuming while I’m there. Everyone talks about the beer in Ireland, and while that’s great and all: POTATOES. (I should add here that I have been to Dublin before for work, and am also technically Irish in my ancestry, although my family has been in Canada for generations now, meaning it might just be in my blood to love the potatoes of Ireland).

Seriously folks, the potatoes in Ireland are fantastic. I know this sounds crazy, but just….listen to me on this one. I have honestly never had better potatoes than in Ireland. They are these fantastic little clouds of starch, regardless of the preparation. Nothing is more satisfying than that on a rainy day.

I’ll be posting while over there, so I look forward to updating you with my very own snapshots of the island. Expect to see shots of both the running trails and the potatoes.

Sláinte!! (and Happy Running)

(Photo credit: Roberto Taddeo)

Leave a Reply

