The Silence of Running

Sometimes, I can be a little crabby, Especially before coffee in the morning, but frequently afterwards too. What can I say? Patience is just not my virtue. Know your strengths and all that.

This crabbiness has not gone unnoticed by my wonderful and considerably more patient co-workers. So much so that I once came back to my desk to find a sticker that said, and I am paraphrasing here, “Cheer up Grumpy. You are awesome and have great shoes.” Awwww. Did I mention I have some pretty cool cubicle-mates?

Now, you are presumably here to read something about running, so I promise this does tie in. When I am at my grumpiest – when things aren’t going right at work, or the TTC (our beloved and run down transit system in Toronto) shuts down AGAIN or one of the million other little things – I make myself go for a run. Why?

Because there are very few things a good run can’t solve.

When I’m running, everything goes silent for awhile. It’s my purest form of living in the moment. I don’t usually consciously think about my problems while I run – in fact, I rarely do – but nevertheless, by the time I’m done if they are not solved, I’m at least much more capable of fixing them. Running is like pressing re-start on your brain’s ability to process things.

I’m not the only one that things so. You can find other significantly more experienced runners and scholarly writers making the same claims here, here and here. And here.

So, seriously, happy running!

 

Leave a Reply

